CHINGUACOUSY CURLING CLUB HISTORY

- 1968 Club started as a rental league at Bolton Curling Club with 32 curlers on Tuesday nights. Stan & Vi Gelsinger and Ron & Kaye Britton were original members.
- 1971 Club moves to Humber Highland Curling Club with 8 rental sheets on Sunday nights. We had 96 curlers with 32 spares.
- During month of February club members surveyed all of Bramalea requiring 1500 signatures to agree for Ching. township to erect a curling club. More than double the names were collected.
- 1973 In September our new club opens in Chinguacousy Park, under the auspices of the Rotary Club. Premier Bill Davis throws first rock. Alex Winslow was 1st Mgr. Marv Hatelt 1st Pres.
- 1975 Club sends our 1st team to a provincial curling championship. The mixed team of Alex & Edith Winslow, Dave Stewart and Donna Hlady.
- 1976 City of Brampton takes over the day to day operations of the club with the members still running the leagues.
- 1982 Both Ching Jr. Boys and Girls teams win the prestigious Sun Life Bonspiel and a trip to Switzerland. Boys team Dave Carriere, Ian Hilton, Steve Smith and Todd Berthelot. Girls team Janet Gelsinger, Debbie Grimbleby, Lori Dunwoody and Karen Gelsinger.
 - Club wins 1st Provincial Curling Championship, the two team Governor-Generals Competition; Teams were Dave Stewart, Greg Ward, Mike Lavine and Neil Hendry with Glenn Christie, Lloyd Harris, Paul Brannen and Al Keating.
- 1983 Ching hosted the Provincial Colts and Masters Championships convened by Ted Robbins and Al Keating.
- 1984 Jr. Boys team for 2nd time wins the Sun Life Bonspiel with Dave Carriere, Mike Harris, Ian Hilton and Len McNichol.
- 1986 Club hosts the Swiss National team with a banquet prior to the world championships being held in Toronto.
 - Club wins the Provincial Colts Championship with team Dave Carriere, David Greenwood, Gord McArthur and Todd Berthelot.
- 1988 Provincial Intermediate Championship is won by team of Glenn Christie, Dave Stewart, Bob Harris and Sandy Rae.
- 1990 Provincial Jr. Mixed Championship is won by team of Matt Hames, Jayne Flinn, Chris Harris and Leslie Allan.

- 1992 2nd provincial Colts Championship is won by team of Scott Bailey, Matt Hames, Dave Oldford and Art Carr.
- 1998 Dave Carruthers wins Brier (Canadian Men's Championship) and Ford World Championship as Alternate for Wayne Middaugh's rink.

Brampton Sports Hall of Fame inducts Chinguacousy alumni Mike Harris, Dave Carruthers and Scott Bailey.

Club celebrates 25 years of present facility with special guest Olympic Silver Medalist Mike Harris.

Provincial Holiday Inn Challenge Curling Championship won by team of Dave McLeod, Russ Emery, Bob Dumond, Blair Campbell.

- 2001 Dave Carruthers participates in Brier (Canadian Men's Championship) as Alternate for Wayne Middaugh's rink.
- 2005 Dave Carruthers participates in Brier (Canadian Men's Championship) as Alternate for Wayne Middaugh's rink.
- 2008 Brampton Sports Hall of Fame inducts original Chinguacousy member Dave Stewart.

TCA Mixed Curling Championships won by team of Len McNichol, Deb McPhadden, Dan Balachorek, Allison Goring and Rob Lobel.

- **2009** Fairfield/Marriott Provincial Championship won by team Darrin Harkness, Brad Frazer, Dan Nadon and Stephen Nott.
- 2010 Jr. Mixed Provincials won by team of Andrew McGaugh, Ginger Coyle, Michael McGaugh and Frances Pritchard.

In April construction began for demolition and rebuilding of a new lounge and locker facilities.

In Oct. Our new Curling season will take place at Victoria Park Arena for 2010/2011.

Team Susan Burnside won the Provincial Dominion Club Championship and represented Ontario at Nationals in Charlottetown, PEI with Meagan Trevail, Torie Abbotts, and Kaitlyn Rankin.

Team Darrin Harkness and his team of Andrew McGaugh, Jonathan Cassidy, and Roland Clarke won the OCA Fairfield Marriott Challenge.

Team Meagan Trevail and her team of Ginger Coyle, Kaitlyn Rankin, and Frances Pritchard won the OCA Best Western Challenge.

Opening of new curling facility in Chinguacousy Park.

2013 Team Michael McGaugh and his team of Kendall Haymes, Bryan Mitchell, and Cassie Savage with coach Andrew McGaugh won Jr. Mixed Provincials.